Facebook Instagram
Newsletter

Resistance
& elegance

Our must-haves

The reference
"Made in France"
brand

its history

A luxury
craftsman

find out more

Le Véritable Cherbourg umbrellas

It was born in Cherbourg, at the bow of the Cotentin region, a land surrounded by the sea which sometimes cradles it, sometimes mistreats it. It has inherited a strong personality from it. And like a sailing boat flying the flag of her native port, it proudly wears on its canopy the embroidered arms of the brand "Le Véritable Cherbourg".

The Manufacture

Quality elevates people, it bears the name of la Manufacture de Parapluies de Cherbourg (the Manufacture of Cherbourg Umbrellas). It brings together women and men who have invested themselves and become luxury manufacturers. Made on site, the umbrellas are hand-made to a zero-fault, zero-defect standard.

Discover the manufacture
bague parapluie de Cherbourg détails Détails parapluies de Cherbourg

Les Parapluies de Cherbourg

After Jacques Demy’s movie Les Parapluies de Cherbourg (The Umbrellas of Cherbourg) was released in 1963, it was Le Véritable Cherbourg’s turn to make Cherbourg – the capital of the Cotentin – shine. Created in 1986 by Jean-Pierre Yvon, this top-of-the-range umbrella is sold all over the world. Adopted by the greatest luxury brands, this gem of umbrella comes in around twenty models and colours, always displaying elegance à la française. And if its look causes a sensation, its unquestionable resistance makes it one of the strongest umbrellas in the world. Tribute to the movie Les Parapluies de Cherbourg (The Cherbourg Umbrellas). Directed by Jacques Demy and put to music by Michel Legrand, this hugely successful movie was awarded the Palme d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival.

This love story also launched the carrier of Catherine Deneuve: she played the role of Geneviève, the daughter of Madame Emery – a widow selling umbrellas – who Guy – a garage owner living with his aunt Elise – is in love with! The scenario inspired Jean-Pierre Yvon who was fascinated by the filming of the movie in Cherbourg city. Les Parapluies de Cherbourg enjoyed a round of applause throughout the world! As Le Véritable Cherbourg, it put on a great act in Orelsan and Stromae music video La Pluie.

Its story

Born into a family, whose members have been leather manufacturers from Father to Son since 1800 in Cherbourg, Jean-Pierre Yvon created and registered the trade-mark “Le Véritable Cherbourg” in 1986, and today, his son Charles is taking on the family business.

Discover its story
Keep up to date with our latest news

Newsletter

Sign up by entering your email address

M'inscrire à la newsletter
Find a retail outlet

Retail outlets

See the list of boutiques and resellers

Retail outlets
#leveritablecherbourg

Facebook Instagram
Newsletter

Résistance
& élégance

Nos incontournables

La marque
"Made in France"
de référence

Son histoire

Un artisanat
de luxe

En savoir plus

Parapluies Le Véritable Cherbourg

Il est né à Cherbourg, à la proue du Cotentin, terroir cerné par la mer qui tantôt le berce, tantôt le rudoie. Il en a hérité un solide caractère. Et comme un voilier battant pavillon de son port natal, il arbore fièrement, brodé à même la toile le blason de la marque « Le Véritable Cherbourg ».

La Manufacture

La qualité grandit les Hommes, elle s’appelle la Manufacture de Parapluies de Cherbourg. Elle réunit des femmes et des hommes qui se sont investis et transformés en manufacturiers du luxe. Conçus sur place, ils sont fabriqués à la main dans le but du zéro fautes, zéro défauts.

Découvrir la manufacture
bague parapluie de Cherbourg détails Détails parapluies de Cherbourg

Les Parapluies de Cherbourg

Après le film de Jacques Demy Les Parapluies de Cherbourg, sorti en 1963 au cinéma, c’est au tour du Véritable Cherbourg de faire rayonner la capitale cotentinoise. Créée en 1986 par Jean Pierre-Yvon, le Véritable Cherbourg est vendu dans le monde entier. Bijou adopté par les plus grandes marques du luxe, le parapluie se décline dans une vingtaine de modèles et de couleurs, arborant toujours l’élégance à la française. Et si son allure fait sensation, son indubitable résistance en fait l’un des parapluies les plus solides au monde. Hommage au film Les Parapluies de Cherbourg. Mis en scène par le réalisateur Jacques Demy, mis en musique par Michel Legrand, ce film mythique reçoit la palme d’or au festival de Cannes.

Cette histoire d’amour lance par la même occasion, la carrière de Catherine Deneuve, alias Geneviève la jeune fille de Madame Emery veuve marchande de parapluies dont Guy, une garagiste qui vit chez sa tante Elise, est amoureux ! Un scénario qui inspirera Jean-Pierre Yvon fasciné par le tournage du film dans la ville de Cherbourg. Aujourd’hui transposé en comédie musicale, Les Parapluies de Cherbourg s’offrent une pluie d’applaudissements à travers le monde ! Quant au Véritable Cherbourg, il fait son cinéma dans le clip d’Orelsan et Stromae.

Son histoire

Issu d’une famille de manufacturiers du cuir de Père en Fils depuis 1800 à Cherbourg, Jean-Pierre Yvon crée et dépose la marque « Le Véritable Cherbourg » en 1986 aujourd’hui repris par son fils Charles.

Découvrez son histoire
Recevoir nos actualités

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous en saisissant votre e-mail.

M'inscrire à la newsletter
Trouver un point de vente

Points de vente

Consulter la liste des boutiques et revendeurs

Points de vente
#leveritablecherbourg